Guitar Build: Done.

Eleven months ago, I started building an electric guitar with the idea of blogging every week to document the experience. The blogging lasted about seven weeks, but the building did go on. Today, I’m happy to announce: it is done.

So many thanks to Ted Harlan of Ted Harlan Woodworking School. If you live near Louisville and you play guitar, building a guitar with Ted must be on your bucket list. If you don’t live near Louisville, you should consider moving. The experience was unforgettable. Ted is an absolute master woodworker, luthier, and guitar player, and he is unbelievably patient! He knows when to let you do things yourself, when to lend a hand, and when to say, “step aside.” Thank you, Ted.

The final product exceeded my expectations by far. Not only is it drop-dead gorgeous; it also sounds great. For the guitar nerds, I used Lollar 50’s wind pickups and Sperzel Trim-Lok tuning machines. The headstock shape is my own design, and the font for my name is the beautiful, Olicana. I hope to post a video soon, but for now, here are some photos taken by my son Henry.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

